Home Page

Roman Numerals

Roman Numerals


There are just 7 Roman numerals: I, V, X, L, C, D and M.

Unlike most other number systems, the numerals can only be used in particular sequences.

Another rule is that apart from M, you can only have a maximum of 3 of any given numeral in a row.

Here is a quick overview of the 7 Roman numerals and what each is worth.


Roman Numerals Value
I 1
V 5
X 10
L 50
C 100
D 500
M 1000



For larger numbers, we can also use an overline with each Roman numeral which has the effect of multiplying the value by 1000, so:


Roman Numerals Value
V 5,000
X 10,000
L 50,000
C 100,000
D 500,000
M 1,000,000



So XLMM would represent 42,000.